top of page
Search
  • Anonymous

NYE Toast

As I put on my best outfit

And pour bubbly in my glass,

I think back with grace

And I must admit

Of the complexities brought en masse.


“Here’s to 2020, a ghastly time”

A year some say barreled towards us

At a momentous pace

With neither reason nor rhyme.

But some who know injustice


Have felt its sting, bite, and claw,

Heard “your ways aren’t right with our world.”

Have known the systems in place

“For there is not one, but two law”

“The beasts of power, submit, or your life unfurled.”


I return to the kitchen, pour my glass down the sink.

Say goodbye to friends on Zoom, pour some tea, and think.

An overdose of empathy for the world felt down to my blood, iron and zinc.

Black and brown bodies undertreated, vax deniers, and now COVID in mink?


I pause and slow down

Breathe, push, smile, frown

Love through joy, grief, anger, pain


This, we can embrace

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page