top of page
Search

reflections on a new garment

My short white coat i s too big.


I thought i t might be the right size--


But

The sleeves, too long

The pockets, empty

And I ’m never sure how many buttons to button.


When ordering it, I struggled to fill in

the name above

the left side pocket.

Surely not the same name I’ve carried with me

the name of my childhood

the name when I couldn’t watch PG-13 movies

the name I placed on my application to this place

before I even knew I was getting i n.


And surely not Dr. Wang.

(yet, at least)


I imagined differently

the day I would receive a short white coat.


A ceremony

Joyous, l oud

Rows, filled

Beaming faces both

Of friends and colleagues and family and faculty

Some here for the first time,

Some as part of

A long celebrated tradition

They would not bear to miss


This year

in the place of donning

by kin

(those supportive warm hands)

Instead

A single wire hanger

On a rack

Lined up for takeaway logistics,

Not alphabetical celebration.


It hung behind me in my car

as I ignored it

too scared to try i t on

Then placed it


directly


in the closet

to hide the truth of it.


The first time I wear it

It bounces back rays of muted daylight,

Pixelated on the Zoom screen

As the SP gives me garbled feedback I don’t understand.


I nod as I worry the tightly sewn, unwashed buttons between my fingers

(as i f that would make me deserve i t more)


At times my white coat seems heavy

With the burden of knowledge

Weighted with the future responsibility of decisions

Mistakes that could cost a life.


Heavy, yet

I realize acutely

that the pockets are empty

--lord, tell me what to fill them with--

--tell me what to fill me with--

examination tools? notecards? textbook knowledge? volunteering? seminars? the voices of

professors in my head?


My white coat didn’t come with a manual.


At times, my white coat is flimsy

How could that single garment

Transform me i nto a hero

Who directs a team,

and teaches next generations,

And saves a l ife?


My white coat didn’t come with answers.

At the end of the day,

my white coat is a privilege

Though white does not show much.


The white doesn’t show

The whiteboard marker on my hands

as I draw out the brachial plexus yet another time


The white doesn’t show

the wetness of tears

From a patient harboring a condition with no cure


The white doesn’t show

the humanity of blood on the examination table.


My short white coat is full

of both remembrance and promise


I slip my arms into the sleeves

as I recall the longing for this moment and this day

Admiring the short white coats of my past

as real medical students donned them proudly

When I wasn’t one


While wearing it now, recognizing

the silent promise that it will one day

grow i n length

to become the long white coat

I dream of now.


For all the things i t lacked,

My white coat did come with

a rectangular note

from the graduating Class of 2020.

A wish-us-well

For the journey we have just started

That they just completed.


The journey that goes on

and on

to the next

and next

and next and next

and


That note was a missive from the future

that things will be okay.

That I can do this.


My white coat is too big

The sleeves are too long

But I roll them up

And get to work.

69 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page