top of page
Search
  • Anonymous

Time Away from Medicine

On Thanksgiving, outside of my parent’s home in New Hampshire, my fiancée

Martha and I play with my niece Audrey, who is now almost 2 years old. She has

blue eyes, light brown hair with little curly wisps of hair that are starting to form

over her ears. She wears rainbow boots, pink pants, and a fancy, navy blue puffy-

jacket that her mother definitely doesn’t want to get dirty. I pick her up and place her on top of the slide of the playhouse my father built for us when we were

kids. The slide itself is sturdy but dirty from the years outside. “Audrey, don’t

move. Wait until I’m at the base of the slide.” She nods while smiling with a big

grin, excited to make her way down the slide for the thirtieth time. “Go!” I hold

my arms up ready to catch her. She zooms down the slide, and I snatch her as she

makes it to the bottom, right before she falls off the slide. “Muh! Muh!” She

pleads pointing to the top of the slide. By this point, I’m a bit tired, but I indulge

her, placing her back on top of the slide knowing this is one of the rare moments I

am home to play with her. She slides down again, I catch her, and plop her on the

ground. She finally tires of the slide and walks away looking for her next

adventure, her pink pants covered in dirt from the slide.


The weekend before returning home to see my family for Thanksgiving, I was in

the medical school library studying the endless amount of drugs we needed to

learn for an exam at the beginning of the week. I was mentally drained coming

home around eight or nine each night on both days. I took the exam on Monday

morning, and as soon as I finished, I checked the backlog of tasks and lectures I

had left unfinished from my cardiology block, which began the week before, but

which I had left on the sidelines because of my focus on Pharmacology. Fourteen

lectures to review, one assignment, and a quiz. I had between Monday afternoon

and Wednesday morning to get all of my work done so that I could see my

family on Thursday for Thanksgiving without feeling the burden of school work

on my shoulders. I got started immediately. By the end of the night, I had

managed to complete 9 lectures and one assignment. I looked up at the clock:

3:00 AM. I went to bed, falling asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow.

I woke up late on Tuesday with a headache, groggy and exhausted from the

night before. In hindsight, I wish that I had stopped studying earlier in the night.

Still, I was thankful for having finished so many lectures because over the next

two days I would be juggling other responsibilities. I jotted down the list of what

remained:


• Cardiology Physical Diagnosis Session

• Five Lectures

• Quiz

• LPP session


The next 24 hours were a blur, but I managed to finish my to-do list. I was finally

ready to enjoy a well-deserved Thanksgiving break with my family. My fiancée

and I packed our bags, and we took off, ready to put medicine on the back of our

minds for a day.


Unfortunately, my mind decided that medicine would stay front-and-center. It’s

funny how the mind works, or maybe just my own. Despite being home with

family with no work to do, my mind was still racing. At times, I would find

myself on my computer checking emails, unable to let go of the need to be

productive.


In medical school, I quickly began to realize how fleeting time is. Often, my

medical school friends will say, “I wish there was more time in the day. There’s

just too much to do.” We end up working around this unattainable dream by

becoming more efficient, squeezing out the things in our lives that prevent us

from succeeding at whatever it is we call success—maybe that means passing an

exam or feeling confident in clinic.


This Thanksgiving, I found that this constant frame-of-mind can carry over into

our personal lives, even when we don’t want it to. Finding balance between

professional and personal life, then, becomes an intentional and active process.

Without careful attention, we can easily fall back into the go-go-go mentality.

Luckily for me, I have a wonderful fiancée who helps me refocus on what

matters most in my life. “Look at your niece outside having fun in the backyard.

Why don’t you go play with her?” Martha encouraged me as I was sitting on my

computer finishing the hundredth course evaluation I received this semester.

The cold air is nice. It’s been a while since I have enjoyed being outside. As I look

around the playground where Audrey was on the slide, I see the familiar black,

gated fence that wraps around it, so my brother’s dog Charlie doesn’t run off

when he lets her outside. As Audrey walks away, Martha and I follow her and

open the gate that she is still too short to open herself. We walk to the red brick

pathway that winds down to the lake a hundred yards away, which is mostly

drained now that it’s late Fall. I notice the fresh green grass in the backyard that

my dad recently planted. Oak and pine trees, hundreds of feet high, tour over the

yard which my mother refuses to ever cut down because she enjoys the privacy it

offers from our neighbors and passersby on the lake. Standing on the brick

walkway, Audrey looks up to her right at Martha and holds out her hand.

Martha grabs on. Audrey then turns her head up and to the left, looking at me

with a giggly grin and outstretched hand. I hold her hand as the three of us walk

together down to the water without any real goal in mind, looking for our next

adventure.

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page